You are here

The Best Brothers

Theater LaB - The Best BrothersTheater LaB - The Best Brothers
Venue Date TIme
Matchbox 1 Friday, Feb. 17 8:00 PM
Matchbox 1 Saturday, Feb. 18 8:00 PM
Matchbox 1 Thursday, Feb. 23 8:00 PM
Matchbox 1 Friday, Feb. 24 8:00 PM
Matchbox 1 Saturday, Feb. 25 8:00 PM
Matchbox 1 Sunday, Feb. 26 3:00 PM
Matchbox 1 Thursday, Mar. 2 8:00 PM
Matchbox 1 Friday, Mar. 3 8:00 PM
Matchbox 1 Saturday, Mar. 4 8:00 PM
Matchbox 1 Sunday, Mar. 5 3:00 PM

Theater LaB Houston

The Best Brothers

A Regional Premiere by Daniel MacIvor

The Best Brothers from Theater LaB on Vimeo.

Directed by Stuart Purdy.

From one of Canada's most prolific artists Daniel MacIvor is an award winning playwright, screenwriter, actor and director and much more. His stage works include His Highness, Never Swim Alone and Marion Bridge. He is the writer, director and star in many independent Canadian films.

Bunny Best met her unfortunate end at a Gay Days parade. Now her two sons, Kyle and Hamilton, have the task of arranging her funeral and carrying for most beloved companion, a troublesome Italian greyhound named Enzo. In the bustle of obituary-writing, eulogy-giving, and dog-sitting, sibling rivalry quickly reaches its peak and years of buried contentions   surface.

The Best Brothers is a bittersweet comedy that explores the many ways in which we grieve and the love we find in unexpected places.  

“One of the most beautifully, bittersweet plays MacIvor has written. Not to be missed” - The Globe and Mail