You are here

The Night Gatherers

Aperio - New Argentinean Masters - photo by Ben DoyleAperio - New Argentinean Masters - photo by Ben Doyle
Date TIme
Sunday, Oct. 30 5:00 PM


The Night Gatherers

Featuring the Rolston String Quartet and Ivo van der Werff, viola

APERIO, Music of the Americas presents The Night Gatherers - Evocations of Darkness & Light in American Music at the Midtown Arts and Theater Center Houston (MATCH). Presented on the eve of Halloween, this program explores nocturnal themes in contemporary American chamber music by George CrumbJudd GreensteinDon LocklairLera Auerbach, and Roger Zare.

George Crumb’s groundbreaking vocal cycle Apparition for soprano and amplified piano anchors a collection of recent music by Lera Auerbach, Judd Greenstein, Roger Zare, and Don Locklair. Through works for varied small ensembles, these composers explore timeless notions of night, darkness, and light drawing upon a stylistic palette that is inspired by Romanticism, Impressionism, and innovative extended techniques. Guest performers include The Rolston String Quartet and Ivo-Jan van der Werff, viola.


  • AUERBACH - Lonely Suite, Op. 70 for solo violin
  • CRUMB Apparition for soprano and amplified piano
  • GREENSTEIN The Night Gatherers for string quintet
  • LOCKLAIR In the Almost Evening for soprano, clarinet and piano
  • ZARE Northern Lights for piano trio


Julia FoxsopranoChristian SchubertclarinetChloé Trevorviolin; Ivo-Jan van der WerffviolaDaniel SaenzcelloThe Rolston String Quartet; Brenda KinsellapianoMichael Zurawpiano

Aperio - Logo